The qualifications for this permit are similar to the purchase permit.
Yes. You must be a U.S. citizen and have been a resident of North Carolina for 30 days, or longer, before applying for a concealed handgun permit. Exemptions for active duty military personnel apply.
The application process is typically slowed down by the acquisition of medical records. Once all of the required medical information is received by the Halifax County Sheriff’s Office, the rest of the approval process is started.
Begin by updating your driver’s license to reflect your new address. Then go to the sheriff’s office in your previous county of residence about your address change. They will notify the Halifax County Sheriff’s Office.
North Carolina and Halifax County recognize valid concealed handgun permits from all 50 states. Please check with your state to ensure your concealed handgun permit will still be valid under their laws after you move to North Carolina or change your legal residence. In any event, 90-days prior to the expiration of your out-of-state concealed handgun permit, you must complete an approved North Carolina firearms safety course. After completing the course, you may apply for a new North Carolina concealed handgun permit with the Halifax County Sheriff’s Office. Your concealed handgun permit address is required to match your NC driver’s license.
No, it never expires for a new concealed handgun permit applicant who has not applied for their concealed handgun permit.
Yes, Concealed Handgun permits expire in 5-years, and must be renewed. If you have a concealed handgun permit and you let your concealed handgun permit expire, then you will be considered a new applicant and will have to complete the entire process described above including attending a North Carolina approved firearms safety course.
A NEW concealed handgun permit is $90.00 plus additional processing fees, while a RENEWAL concealed handgun permit is $75.00 plus additional processing fees.
No, if you have a valid concealed handgun permit you can use this to purchase a pistol. You will not need to purchase a separate purchase permit.
No, you are not required to register a firearm anywhere in North Carolina.
Please refer to North Carolina General Statute §14-415.11 for an in-depth explanation of where carrying a concealed weapon is not permitted.
Yes, a Halifax County concealed handgun permit authorizes you to carry a concealed weapon anywhere in North Carolina, when permitted by law.
Most states honor a concealed handgun permit issued in North Carolina. However, it is best to research and confirm a reciprocal agreement is in place before traveling out of state with a concealed weapon. Effective December 1, 2011, North Carolina automatically recognizes concealed handgun permits issued in any of the 50 states.